The rosary is a vocal and contemplative form of prayer which has been very much part of Catholic devotional practice since before the thirteenth century. The rosary uses words like a mantra so that we can meditate deeply and in peace. It is a simple and effective way of leading us step by step through the essential mysteries of our faith. The love of God for us is revealed in Christ, and the mysteries of the rosary are arranged in groups of five decades (known as chaplets) and follow the sequence of the life of Our Lord and Mary, his mother. For many centuries in the life of the Church there have been three sets of mysteries of the rosary, known as the joyful, sorrowful and glorious mysteries; in 2002, Blessed Pope John Paul 11 added a new set, known as the luminous mysteries.

The Rosary is said Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, after 10am Mass.

A traditional rosary consists of five groups of ten beads (a decade), with a separate bead between each decade. Attached to the rosary is a shorter strand consisting of a group of three beads, with another separate bead on either side of the group. There is usually a crucifix at the end of the rosary chain. The beads are used as a physical way of keeping count of the prayers as we say them.

To pray the rosary, we normally begin by reciting the Apostles' Creed at the crucifix, then on the shorter part of the chain we say an Our Father on the first bead, a Hail Mary on each of the next three beads, followed by a Glory be to the Father on the next bead.

We then begin to pray the decades, counting the prayers on the beads, while focusing on whichever set of mysteries has been chosen. Each decade of the rosary is composed of one Our Father, ten Hail Marys and one Glory be to the Father. The rhythm of the prayers helps us to grow in contemplation and brings a stillness that is essential to our growth in prayer life.

The Joyful Mysteries - (recited on Mondays and Saturdays).

1. The Annunciation
2. The Visitation
3. The Nativity
4. The Presentation
5. Finding Jesus in the Temple

The Sorrowful Mysteries (recited on Tuesdays and Fridays)

1. The Agony of Jesus in the Garden
2. The Scourging at the Pillar
3. The Crowning With Thorns
4. The Carrying of the Cross
5. The Crucifixion

The Glorious Mysteries (recited on Wednesdays and Sundays)

1. The Resurrection
2. The Ascension
3. The Coming of the Holy Spirit
4. The Assumption of Mary
5. The Coronation of Mary

The Mysteries of Light (recited on Thursdays)

1. Baptism of Jesus in the River Jordan
2. The Wedding at Cana, Christ Manifested
3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
4. The Transfiguration of Jesus
5. The Institution of the Eucharist

There are many simple books available to help you pray the Rosary, including some available from the parish ‘Holy’ Shop.